cutting out a border via art import?

General MeshCAM Art Questions

cutting out a border via art import?

Postby Josh » Mon Nov 26, 2012 10:48 pm

Hello,
I am just digging into MeshCAM and so far its pretty straight forward to use.. I am trying to make a simple sign for my "workshop" (by that I mean the garage because I am just a Hobbyist)... For now I am making an image to import (because I am still exploring CAD options but I am not to bad at Illustrator and Photoshop) but I am having the darnest time trying to express cutting a border ( I am looking at about 3" radius corners on my 10" wide sign that I'll be cutting out of 12" stock...

I don't want to machine away all the "excess" material, I just want to plung thru the stock around the outside.. I was thinking maybe I need to make two gcode files (one for the border, one for the rest of the art) and run them seporate.. But before I did that I figured I would ask..

Also (according to CutViewer) I am getting a lot of collisions when the system trys to do the detail work with 1/8" bit.. I though MeshCam was suppose to detect those kinds of things and just not cut them.. Or is CutViewer not interpreting the path and Tool correctly?

Thanks
Josh
Very much a Newbie
Josh

Re: cutting out a border via art import?

Postby Randy » Tue Nov 27, 2012 6:31 am

Hi Josh and welcome to the forum. Don't worry--we all start(ed) as newbies.