Page 1 of 1

2 sided machining

PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2018 3:29 pm
by larynx
Is it me - or has anyone noticed that 2-sided only seems to work over the x axis?

Apparently I have been luck till now - just loaded a two sided file and realized it will not work, it is Y-Axis oriented to flip.

Perhaps it would be nice to have a box for which axis to flip over when selecting two sided as the job.

Anyone? Am I incorrect? Always looking for what I am doing wrong.

Re: 2 sided machining

PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2018 4:14 am
by joseph
Maybe you could output two files from your cad program, and flip them in the y axis there?

I never use the 2 sided machining option, seems like it would only work for models requiring symmetrical depth-

Maybe I should only design things that conform to the requisites of the program...

Re: 2 sided machining

PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2019 2:12 am
by larynx
Yeah, you're correct and I have flipped in CAD outputting STLs.

I have a few two-sided jobs that are beautiful - place a board on my table, fly cut it [sets ZERO Z], clamp board planed/sanded one side face down, raise cutter - cut to required FINAL [job] spec, then mill at my new Y-zero two holes at the ends outside of the cut through everything for pins, cut, flip, finish cut other side.

I think that meets the requisites of the program and the final output is within sub thousands.

Just surprised I never noticed the only axis flip - why I ask. Seems this forum gets forgotten, and if it does, then IF and WHEN Rob looks it over, hate being the only one asking.....suggesting.....hoping all of you will chime in.

Ok, I can live with it and what I do. I hope everyone else can too...............