Issue with cutting a portion of the top of stock

General MeshCAM Questions

Issue with cutting a portion of the top of stock

Postby kentdesautel » Fri Mar 23, 2018 6:34 pm

I'm running into problems on this piece
For example on the section where I'm attempting to mill out a .10" diameter rod using a .061 ball tip it's attempting to mill outside the cutout area on the top surface.
In some cases it's just moving the bit over that area at a Z of 0, but sometimes it will still leave a scratch mark.

I've tried various settings changes and just can't seem to figure this out.

One altermative is to use the freehand selection to draw a boarder real close to the cutout area, but this is kind of a timely task.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,

Kent

example 1.jpg
example 1.jpg (114.16 KiB) Viewed 263 times


example 2.jpg
example 2.jpg (127.52 KiB) Viewed 263 times
Attachments
Sample Part.zip
(791.77 KiB) Downloaded 27 times
kentdesautel
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 12:40 am

Re: Issue with cutting a portion of the top of stock

Postby ArchieF » Sun Mar 25, 2018 1:41 pm

Hi Kent,
tried it here with your settings. No problems. See screenshot

Richard

MeshCAM V7 build 5
Attachments
Rod.png
Rod.png (50.24 KiB) Viewed 242 times
AMD Athlon II X2 215 Processor 2.7 GHz

4 GB RAM

Don't waste water - dilute it !
ArchieF
 
Posts: 201
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 5:03 am
Location: Germany, Rehau

Re: Issue with cutting a portion of the top of stock

Postby kentdesautel » Sun Mar 25, 2018 5:04 pm

Hi Richard,

Thanks for the reply.

I did some more playing around with the settings again and if I uncheck the "Use 3d Roughing" and then put a checkmark by the "Use Parallel Path" then it fixes the issue.

Do you see any downside of going that route?

Thank You,

Kent
kentdesautel
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 12:40 am


Return to General

cron