I Need DXF Files

Discussions relating to MeshCAM development

Re: I Need DXF Files

Postby blowlamp » Thu Feb 25, 2010 2:11 am

A sample dxf from ViaCAD.
**Edit**
Added the same file again, but with spline curves converted to Polylines within ViaCAD.
Attachments
ViaCADv6 dxf2004 splinestopolylinesarcslines.zip
(6.42 KiB) Downloaded 604 times
ViaCADv6 dxf2004 splinesarcslines.zip
(8.57 KiB) Downloaded 607 times
blowlamp
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 12:33 am

Re: I Need DXF Files

Postby erth64net » Fri Aug 20, 2010 6:16 pm

Just stumbled over the Beta V4 release info. How exciting!!

Just grabbed both V16 and V17 of V4, in both versions my previously-posted DXF no longer shows the pulley & teeth, it just shows a donut now. Opening the same file on build 19 of V3 shows the pulley+teeth.
- Gregg

Small Parts Design & Manufacturing: http://www.berkholtz.net
erth64net
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2010 5:03 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Re: I Need DXF Files

Postby robgrz » Tue Aug 24, 2010 4:55 am

Thanks for testing that out with V4. V4 can only reliably load DXF files in Autocad V12 format. It can handle some later files but the coverage is spotty at best. You'd have no way to know this because I haven't put any warnings yet so it's probably way more confusing than it needs to be right now. I tested every DXF file posted but I did have to convert some to V12 to get it to work- I think yours was one of them.

V3 Build 19 should never be able to open that DXF since V3 never had the extrusion ability. I suspect that you're loading the STL file and it looks funny. Because of the light position in my 3D rendering window, you will not see the teeth until you rotate away from the top view after loading that file. This is the same case in both V3 and V4.

For what it's worth, the teeth are hidden in the top view because the top and bottom planes have the same normal and are therefore lit with an identical color by OpenGL. I'll probably look at more advanced rending techniques in the future.

If you think I've misunderstood the problem you're pointing out please let me know and I'll try again.

Thanks for the help-
Robert
robgrz
Site Admin
 
Posts: 181
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 6:06 pm
Location: Southern California

Re: I Need DXF Files

Postby eddie3000 » Sun Jan 30, 2011 10:35 am

Here are a couple of dxf produced using sketchup version 8 and a free stl dxf plugin. Hope they meet your needs.
eddie3000
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 9:41 am

Re: I Need DXF Files

Postby eddie3000 » Sun Jan 30, 2011 10:38 am

Here's the file:
Attachments
SketchupV8.zip
using free stl/dxf plugin
(124.25 KiB) Downloaded 573 times
eddie3000
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 9:41 am

Re: I Need DXF Files

Postby jovial_cynic » Sun Dec 22, 2013 7:53 am

From sketchup 2013. I just renamed the file. I ran this through mach3, and it doesn't appear to do the center first.
Attachments
sketchup2013-dfxPlugin.zip
rename zip to dfx
(4.2 KiB) Downloaded 347 times
jovial_cynic
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 22, 2013 7:50 am

Re: I Need DXF Files

Postby Randy » Sun Dec 22, 2013 10:12 pm

Hi jovial_cynic, and welcome to the board. MeshCAM has no prioritizing of cut order on 2.5D parts. To do your part, I'd do one job with a Machine Region enclosing just the hole. Then a second job, remove the Machine Region, use Cap Holes to blank the hole, and machine the outside. This would be the general way to approach parts like this.

Randy
All opinions in this post are mine alone. I am not a MeshCAM employee, I do not have a financial interest in MeshCAM, nor do I speak for MeshCAM. MeshCAM user since Beta 5 in 2003. viewtopic.php?f=11&t=15333 :ugeek:
Randy
 
Posts: 1812
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 9:50 am
Location: North Texas, USA

Previous

Return to Development