A few things

Discussions relating to MeshCAM development

A few things

Postby RichC » Thu Feb 25, 2016 2:44 pm

I have been using meshcam for a few years and am very pleased, however thee have been some developments in the latest versions which could just be a little better, plus I think that the waterline finishing could be a bit more efficient.

waterline OVERfinishing, I have been making some parts lately which have a different height across them and are undercut on the outside, imagine making a bowl, and using waterline finishing, on the inside it machines the inner surface but on the outside it cuts round the lip of the bowl all the way down, largely wasting time as i'm going to machine the outside when I flip it over. can we have an option to eliminate the excess toolpaths when the part has an undercut?

2-sided parts with different machining strategies, like I said I am making some parts which are hollow and 2-sided, I have been using meshcam in the 2-sided mode and have been having two issues.
issue 1, toolpath ordering, if I enable multiple toolpaths, i.e. roughing, finishing in y, waterline and pencil cleanup they are generated in that order, what I want to be able to do is generate a file with them in a different order. in the single sided mode I can generate the toolpaths one by one and "save them for later", which is great as I can put them in the right order then, but I can't do this in 2-sided mode.
issue 2, I am using different tools, depth of cuts and strategies for each side, but with large parts it takes time to generate the toolpaths and in 2-sided mode it generates them for both sides when I only want one.

I have started looking at just using single sided mode and reversing the setup, as this cures both issues but have already ruined one block of material with getting an offset wrong, can we have a "flip setup" button in single sided mode to machine the other side? that way my supports would also be in the right place :?

that's all,

thanks,