3 tool changes

Discussions relating to MeshCAM development

3 tool changes

Postby AdPrinter » Wed Jan 27, 2016 12:03 pm

I have been working with MeshCAM Art for several years, and have a constant desire for a 3rd tool path creation.
Specifically,
Primary Roughing Tool (1/4" diameter preferred)
Secondary Roughing Tool (1/8" diameter preferred)
Finishing Tool (1/16" diameter preferred, or even smaller)
My reasoning for this request, is from an artist's viewpoint. One begins a painting, by starting with a large brush to paint the background area of the image. A medium brush, to paint the mid ground area, and a very small brush to paint the details in the foreground. Similarly, to truly be able to do 3D sculpting, this option would accommodate the Primary Roughing Tool removes the bulk of the material, The Secondary Roughing Tool removes material from a more detailed area. And Finally the Finishing Tool would finish up the cut with the very small (and delicate) diameter bit. The software in it's current form (single roughing tool, and single finishing tool) seems very capable of producing the needed tool paths. The problem is in the physical world, tool diameter is the "wall" I keep running into. The 1/4" diameter Roughing bit seems to be the minimum tool size which will successfully remove the bulk of the material during the roughing cuts. And 1/8" diameter Finishing bit seems to be able to handle most of the finishing cuts. However, because it IS 1/8" diameter, some of the carving's detail is lost during tool path generation. Which can only be done with a 1/16" (or even smaller) diameter Finishing Tool bit. Which is almost guaranteed to break, as it attempts to cut the material left by the Roughing cut. Thus the need, for a "3rd Tool" option!
AdPrinter

Re: 3 tool changes

Postby Randy » Thu Jan 28, 2016 9:55 pm